Session and Diaconate


The office of deacon is one of sympathy, witness and service after the example of Jesus Christ. It is the duty of deacons to minister to those who are in need and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the bounds of the congregation. Deacons visit homebound members, staff the congregational care program, and coordinate and host the weekly Sunday busy ministry for members needing transportation. Deacons are active primarily in local missions and also coordinate special fellowship events in the life of the church.

The Board of Deacons meets at 6:30 p.m. on the second Sunday of the month in the Session Room.
Cynthia Anderson
Alice Arkin
Julie Craig
Rick Hovis
Dick Jordan
June Murphrey
Helyn Robinson
Alyson Schultz
Becky Voorhees

CLASS of 2016
Luke Buchanan
Betty Davenport
Jaime Fulcher
Sandra Hodges
Dottie LaFar
Lenise Melton
Ed Reese
Hoppy Sell
Ben Summer
CLASS of 2015
Garnett Dale Bullock Jr.
William Parks Cole Jr.
Lynne Baldwin Hathcock
Esther H. Nelson
Anna S. Renfro
Roger Wade Rizk
Forest Scott Roberts
C. Randolph Silvers
Janie Yelton Stiles
James Thomas Jr.


The congregation elects elders who, together with ministers of the Word and Sacrament, exercise leadership, government, and discipline. Meeting as the Session, elders have responsibilities for the life and administration of First Presbyterian and the church at-large, including ecumenical relationships.

The Session meets at 6 p.m. in the Session Room on the fourth Sunday of the month, except July and December.
Bill Adams
B.F. Beasley
Kate Buckles
Jim Cookson
Rick Jones
Grady Kennington, chair of the communications ministry
Gene Matthews
Alice Ragan
Tom Watson
CLASS of 2016
Mary Ann Aycock, chair of the nominating ministry
Don Barringer
Page Carver
Tim Fuller
Greg Sellers
Emily Simpson, clerk of session
Leslie Wallace
Craig Whitley
CLASS of 2015
Beverly Beck Bryant, chair of the commitment ministry
Gloria M. Hickson, chair of the congregational life ministry
Kenneth Lee Howe Jr., chair of the building and grounds ministry
Malinda Beasley Lowery, chair of the personnel ministry
Dorothy W. McKenzie, chair of the worship ministry
Arthur R. Newcombe IV, chair of the children's ministry
David R. Rogers, chair of the finance ministry
Kevin Lee Schultz, chair of the youth ministry
Quay D. Williford III, chair of the adult ministry
Barbara G. Yarbrough, chair of the mission ministry